Thursday, March 26, 2009

Breaking News!: Changes in Singapore Cabinet Line-up

CNA: "Teo Chee Hean to be appointed DPM from April, Dr Lee Boon Yang retires"

To summarise the changes in the Singapore Cabinet line-up made by PM Lee Hsien Loong:

One, Mr. Teo Chee Hean will be taking over from Professor S. Jayakumar as Deputy Prime Minister, with effect from 1st April 2009. He will retaining his portfolio as Minister of Defence.

Two, Professor Jayakumar will be retaining his position as Coordinating Minister for National Security and have the additional appointment of Senior Minister in the Prime Minister's Office (PMO).

Three, Mr. Gan Kim Yong, who is currently Acting Minister for Manpower, will be taking over as Minister for Manpower.

Four, Mrs. Lim Hwee Hua will be appointed as a Minister in the PMO; she will also be the Second Minister for both the Finance Ministry and the Transport Ministry. [aside: Finally, a woman Minister! And, hmm, ministers in the PMO, while they may not have a specific portfolio, usually have a specific policy area which they are to be in charge of; would Mrs. Lim also be getting a specific policy area to be in charge of?]

Five, RADM(NS) Lui Tuck Yew will be taking over as Acting Minister for Information, Communications and the Arts (MICA) from Dr. Lee Boon Yang; the latter will be retiring from government.

Six, Mr. Teo Ser Luck will be taking over as Mayor of Northeast CDC from Mr. Zainul Abidin Rasheed, with effect from 31st May 2009; the latter will retain his position as Senior Minister of State in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

Seven, Mr. Sam Tan will become the Parliamentary Secretary for MICA and Trade and Industry ministry, with effect from 1st July 2009.

For a full list of the changes made, please refer to here.

No comments:

Post a Comment